DURHAM, N.C. -- USA Baseball has announced it has submitted its provisional roster for the 2013 World Baseball Classic. Provisional rosters allow up to 28 players to be listed, creating a pool of players who are eligible to be named to the Federation's final roster. Each Federation must submit its final 28-man roster, including a minimum of 13 pitchers and two catchers, by Feb. 20.
USA Baseball's 2013 World Baseball Classic provisional roster
Jeremy Affeldt - San Francisco Giants - LHP
J.P. Arencibia - Toronto Blue Jays - C
Heath Bell - Arizona Diamondbacks - RHP
Willie Bloomquist - Arizona Diamondbacks - UTL
Mitchell Boggs - St. Louis Cardinals - RHP
Ryan Braun - Milwaukee Brewers - OF
Steve Cishek - Miami Marlins - RHP
Tim Collins - Kansas City Royals - LHP
R.A. Dickey - Toronto Blue Jays - RHP
Luke Gregerson - San Diego Padres - RHP
Derek Holland - Texas Rangers - LHP
Adam Jones - Baltimore Orioles - OF
Craig Kimbrel - Atlanta Braves - RHP
Jonathan Lucroy - Milwaukee Brewers - C
Joe Mauer - Minnesota Twins - C
Kris Medlen - Atlanta Braves - RHP
Glen Perkins - Minnesota Twins - LHP
Chris Perez - Cleveland Indians - RHP
Vinnie Pestano - Cleveland Indians - RHP
Brandon Phillips - Cincinnati Reds - IF
Jimmy Rollins - Philadelphia Phillies - IF
Giancarlo Stanton - Miami Marlins - OF
Mark Teixeira - New York Yankees - IF
Shane Victorino - Boston Red Sox - OF
Ryan Vogelsong - San Francisco Giants - RHP
David Wright - New York Mets - IF
Ben Zobrist - Tampa Bay Rays - UTL
Team USA will be led by field manager Joe Torre. Torre's coaching staff for the World Baseball Classic includes Larry Bowa (bench coach), Marcel Lachemann (bullpen/pitching coach), Greg Maddux (pitching coach), Dale Murphy (first base coach), Gerald Perry (hitting coach) and Willie Randolph (third base coach). Lachemann and Maddux will oversee Team USA's pitching staff. 
"Having talked to all of these players I sense a great deal of excitement about representing the United States in the World Baseball Classic," Torre said. "I share their excitement and look forward to managing this talented group in March."
USA Baseball's provisional roster features 13 of the organization's alumni, J.P. Arencibia, Heath Bell, Willie Bloomquist, Ryan Braun, Tim Collins, R.A. Dickey, Joe Mauer, Chris Perez, Jimmy Rollins, Mark Teixeira, Shane Victorino, David Wright and Ben Zobrist, including six players with past World Baseball Classic experience -- Bell ('09), Braun ('09), Rollins ('09), Teixeira ('06), Victorino ('09) and Wright ('09).
"We are pleased to announce Team USA's 27-man provisional roster, which will be led by Joe Torre for the 2013 World Baseball Classic," said Mike Gaski, USA Baseball president. "This team features unprecedented international experience at the highest levels, and we look forward to March when the players will take the field to represent the United States."
Fifteen Major League All-Stars, three Most Valuable Players and one Cy Young Award winner are among the players on Team USA's provisional roster. The All-Stars are Bell, Braun, Dickey, Adam Jones, Craig Kimbrel, Mauer, Perez, Brandon Phillips, Rollins, Giancarlo Stanton, Teixeira, Victorino, Wright, Ryan Vogelsong and Zobrist. The MVPs are Braun (2011 National League), Mauer (2009 American League) and Rollins (2007 NL). The Cy Young winner is reigning recipient Dickey (2012 NL).
USA Baseball's World Baseball Classic team will play its first-round games as part of Pool D at Chase Field in Phoenix, from Friday, March 8, through Sunday, March 10. In Pool D with Team USA are Canada, Mexico and Italy.